Bearcats Break Seven Program Records at Ohio State Invitational

Maddie Reidenbach

Graduate Assistant, Communications and Strategic Brand Engagement

Story Links

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The University of Cincinnati swimming and diving program set seven new school records and 31 top-ten program times this weekend at the Ohio State Invitational in Columbus, Ohio.
Sophomore Grace Gavin started the weekend by setting a new long course school record in the 200-meter individual medley (2:21.41).
Fifth-year Jon Osa earned a 19.87 in the 50-yard freestyle, the third-fastest time in program history.
Osa went on to record the third-fastest time in program history in the 200-yard backstroke (1:44.36) and the fifth-fastest time in program history in the 100-yard backstroke (48.38).
The fast swimming continued as sophomore Joleigh Crye broke the school record in the 100-yard breaststroke with a time of 59.04.
Crye paired this with three top-ten program times in the 50-yard butterfly (2nd/24.68), 100-yard butterfly (3rd/53.54) and 200-yard breaststroke (4th/2:13.90).
On the second day, senior Tommy Eaton continued the Bearcats’ record-breaking weekend by setting a new long course school record in the 100-meter butterfly, swimming a time of 54.76.
Freshman Julie Rose dominated the record book by recording four top-ten program times: 200-yard breaststroke (3rd/2:13.26), 50-yard breaststroke (8th/29.60), 100-yard breaststroke (5th/1:01.80) and 200-yard individual medley (6th/2:00.77).
On day two, freshman Kyle Bumgardner swam the fourth-fastest 400-yard individual medley time in program history (3:50.21) and the tenth-fastest time in the 200-yard individual medley (1:48.56).
Freshman Libby Michel continues to have a stellar season, setting a new long course meter school record in the 400 individual medley (4:53.93).
Michel went on to notch a 4:15.61 in the 400 individual medley, the second-fastest time in program history.
To close out the weekend, the 400-yard freestyle relay team of Osa, Drew Hawthorne, Hunter Gubeno and Jet Fuhrmann broke the school record, notching a time of 2:54.12.
On the women’s side, the team of Gavin, Crye, Aarsvold and Davis broke school records in the 200-yard medley relay (1:38.76) and in the 400-yard medley relay (3:18.36).
The 200-yard freestyle relay team of Hawthorne, Gubeno, Max Plumley and Osa recorded a time of 1:19.42, the second-fastest time in program history.
In the 200-yard freestyle relay, the team of Davis, Aarsvold, Nagel and junior Meghan Fleury earned the fourth-fastest time in program history (1:31.68).
Both Bearcat teams finished fifth with the men scoring 1,247 points and the women scoring 1,317. Ohio State won the women’s title while Indiana secured the men’s.
All school records and top-ten program times listed below.
Women’s 200-meter Individual Medley
Grace Gavin: 2:21.41 (LCM School Record)
Men’s 200-yard Freestyle Relay
Drew Hawthorne, Hunter Gubeno, Max Plumley, Jon Osa: 1:19.42 (2nd)
Women’s 200-yard Freestyle Relay
Jessica Davis, Sonja Aarsvold, Kaylee Nagel, Meghan Fleury: 1:31.68 (4th)
Women’s 50-yard Freestyle
Jessica Davis: 22.75 (2nd)
Men’s 50-yard Freestyle
Jon Osa: 19.87 (3rd)
Women’s 200-yard Individual Medley
Julie Rose: 2:00.77 (6th)
Men’s 200-yard Individual Medley
Kyle Bumgardner: 1:48.56 (10th)
Men’s 500-yard Freestyle
Alex Gonzalez: 4:23.23 (9th)
Women’s 400-yard Medley Relay
Grace Gavin, Joleigh Crye, Sonja Aarsvold, Jessica Davis: 3:38.36 (School Record)
Men’s 400-yard Medley
Drew Hawthorne, Hunter Gubeno, Brogan Robinson, Jon Osa: 3:11.89 (5th)
Men’s 100-meter Butterfly
Tommy Eaton: 54.76 (LCM School Record)
Women’s 400-meter Individual Medley
Libby Michel: 4:53.93 (LCM School Record)
Women’s 200-yard Medley Relay
Grace Gavin, Joleigh Crye, Sonja Aarsvold, Jessica Davis: 1:38.76 (School Record)
Women’s 100-yard Breaststroke
Joleigh Crye: 59.04 (School Record)
Kaylee Nagel: 1:01.63 (4th)
Julie Rose: 1:01.80 (5th)
Men’s 400-yard Individual Medley
Kyle Bumgardner: 3:50.21 (4th)
Jason Allen: 3:52.98 (9th)
Women’s 50-yard Breaststroke
Kaylee Nagel: 29.04 (6th)
Julie Rose: 29.60 (8th)
Men’s 100-yard Butterfly
Drew Hawthorne: 47.42 (4th)
Women’s 100-yard Butterfly
Joleigh Crye: 53.54 (3rd)
Men’s 50-yard Backstroke
Brennan Muramatsu: 22.85 (8th)
Jon Osa: 22.86 (9th)
Women’s 50-yard Butterfly
Joleigh Crye: 24.68 (2nd)
Men’s 100-yard Backstroke
Jon Osa: 48.38 (5th)
Brennan Muramatsu: 48.85 (9th)
Women’s 400-yard Individual Medley
Libby Michel: 4:15.61 (2nd)
Men’s 200-yard Freestyle
Ricky Williams: 1:36.91 (9th)
Men’s 400-yard Freestyle Relay
Jon Osa, Drew Hawthorne, Hunter Gubeno, Jet Fuhrmann: 2:54.12 (School Record)
Women’s 400-yard Freestyle Relay
Jessica Davis, Sophie Curtis, Kaylee Nagel, Sonja Aarsvold: 3:21.35 (6th)
Men’s 200-yard Breaststroke
Jon Osa: 1:44.36 (3rd)
Kyle Bumgardner: 1:58.77 (7th)
Women’s 100-yard Freestyle
Jessica Davis: 49.32 (2nd)
Men’s 1650-yard Freestyle
Alex Gonzalez: 15:21.11 (10th)
Women’s 200-yard Breaststroke
Julie Rose: 2:13.26 (3rd)
Joleigh Crye: 2:13.90 (4th)
Men’s 100-yard Freestyle
Jon Osa: 43.78 (5th)

See also  Lotto247






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *